ANNUAL COUNCIL 21 MAY 2003

LOCAL GOVERNMENT & HOUSING ACT 1989 – FORMATION OF POLITICAL GROUPS (Acting Director of Corporate Services – Democratic Services)

1 INTRODUCTION

1.1 Under Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, two or more Members may give notice that they wish to be treated as a political group.

2 SUPPORTING INFORMATION

2.1 Notices have been received under Regulation 7 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 that two political groups have been formed. Details are as follows:

Conservative Group (35)

Labour Group (6)

Councillors: Kendall Baily Leake Mrs Ballin McCracken Mrs Barnard McLean Barnard Mihell Mills Bettison Birch North Mrs Birch Osborne Browne Packham Mrs Pile Brunel-Walker Dudley Mrs Ryder Edger Sargeant Finch **Thomas** Thompson Finnie Grayson Turrell Harrison Wade Miss Haydon Ward

Councillors:

Adams Mrs Beadsley Beadsley Jones Piasecki Mrs Shillcock

2.3 The Conservative Group has appointed Councillor Paul Bettison as Leader and Councillor Birch as Deputy Leader of the Group.

Worrall

2.4 The Labour Group has appointed Councillor Mrs Anne Shillcock as Leader and Councillor Michael Beadsley as Deputy Leader of the Group.

Background Papers

Notices received under Regulation 7 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations

Contact for further information

Mrs Hayes

Peter Driver – 01344 352260

peter.driver@bracknell-forest.gov.uk